SLNC Governing Board Officers Elected

At its June 6 meeting, the Silver Lake Neighborhood Council (SLNC) unanimously re-elected current Co-chairs Anne-Marie Johnson and Scott Plante, Treasurer Terry Jackson and Secretary Betsy Smith Isroelit to serve a one-year term. In addition, At-large Representative and Homelessness in Silver Lake Committee Co-chair Darius Derakshan was unanimously elected vice chair. Current Vice Chair Jerome Courshon had informed the SLNC of his intention to step down to give another board member the opportunity serve in that position. The Board also unanimously elected Region 5 representative and newly-elected co-chair of the Governmental Affairs Committee David Valdez as second signer; Valdez will work with Treasurer Terry Jackson on funding requests, financial documents and overseeing financial assets of the SLNC.

“I have been a SLNC board member since 2010 and this is the most forward thinking, aggressive – in a positive way –  and engaged board I have worked with,” said Johnson. “I am excited to take on the challenges of representing Silver Lake for another year.” Johnson and other board members also thanked Courshon, who will continue to serve as an at-large representative, for his service to the SLNC and the community.